Benjamin Black is the crime-writing pen name of acclaimed author John Banville. As Benjamin Black he has written seven novels starring Quirke, the surly but brilliant pathologist: Christine Falls (2006), The Silver Swan (2007), Elegy for April (2010), A Death in Summer (2011), Vengeance (2012), Holy Orders (2013), and Even the Dead (2015). In 2014, BBC TV adapted the Quirke novels into a major series starring Gabriel Byrne.

John Banville is the author of seventeen novels, including Nightspawn (1971), Birchwood (1973), Doctor Copernicus (1976), Kepler (1981), The Newton Letter (1982), Mefisto (1986), The Book of Evidence (1989), Ghosts (1993), Athena (1995), The Ark (1996), The Untouchable (1997), Eclipse (2000), Shroud (2002), The Sea (2005), The Infinities (2009), Ancient Light (2012) and The Blue Guitar (2015).

His novel The Book of Evidence was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and won the Guinness Peat Aviation award in 1989. His novel The Sea won the 2005 Man Booker Prize. In 2011, John Banville was awarded the Franz Kafka Prize and, in 2013, he was awarded the Irish PEN Award for Outstanding Achievement in Irish Literature.



  • To build and leverage an online community for Benjamin Black and John Banville readers in the UK, with a particular focus on the Quirke Mysteries.

  • Penguin General Books – London, UK

  • Invite readers to escape into Black’s world of elegant noir – to walk alongside Quirke down foggy, dimly lit streets and into the smoke-filled and boozy pubs of 1950s Dublin.

  • Social media management, initiate community interaction and drive brand awareness in the UK.

Thanks for all the great foundation work you did with these crucial authors and for all the great content you continue to do.

- Amelia Fairney, Penguin General Books